Was Nietzsche Right?


Friedrich NietzscheThis is Friedrich Nietzsche, one very brilliant and disturbed philosopher. I had an awesome Philosophy professor (Dr. Doug Blount) during my graduate studies who was funny, often absent (no classes!), and brilliant. I tell you this because Dr. Blount taught that there were really only two competing philosophies in the world (by the way, I am vastly simplifying his actual lecture here): the philosophy of Nietzsche and the philosophy of Christ. Clearly, I came down on the side of Jesus. However, Nietzsche did have some brilliant and scathing things to say about the Orthodox expressions of Christianity with which he was familiar. One such saying ties directly into the  second rule of the “Worship . . .” series; namely, worship must not ever, under any circumstances, suck!

Unfortunately, what Nietzsche was insinuating was that most Christian worship services were breaking that rule. Here is what Nietzsche said in Thus Spoke Zarathustra: A Book for None and All,

“They would have to sing better songs for me to learn to have faith in their Redeemer; and his disciples would have to look more redeemed!”

Let me know what you think on this one . . .

2 thoughts on “Was Nietzsche Right?

  1. Obviously, he would change his mind if he attended NAC. That is my not so humble opinion. The music is Righteous and Inspiring and we are getting there (slowly but surely) with being more like Jesus.

  2. For once I agree, at least on some basic level, with ol’ FN. Of course depending on when he wrote this he would be writing from the depth of frontotemporal dementia or from syphilis. Either way not exactly the writings of a healthy mind.

Leave a comment